And that’s a wrap.

by saraspatula

My flight back is soon.  I really can’t believe it’s over.  I mean, I’m happy to be able to see my family and friends back home again, but I have this lingering feeling in the back of my head of incompleteness.  Now, I know I could work my whole life and not get even close to solving certain problems, but that bothers me.

I said my goodbyes.  Some Dharmaraju said stuck with me, because it’s something a lot of people have told me as my trip has come to an end.  It’s that of all the foreign visitors that came here, I got the closest to them.  That really meant a lot to me, because that was one of the only things I had in mind when I came here (something they drilled into our heads at DukeEngage Academy!).  I didn’t know how much of a difference I could make, but I wanted to get to know people, because that’s where everything starts – with people.  Somayajulu Garu said the same thing: that I was indistinguishable from a local after the first couple of weeks.

And so that’s where I am now.  About to go home, happy about it, but still with a sense of unease.  I know I accomplished something, and I’m happy about it.  I pushed the right people to do the right thing, and I honestly believe that the people that I have come to know and love will be better off because of it.

I suppose my next post will be from my living room back home.  And for that, I can’t wait.

