Four days left. Let’s do this.

by saraspatula

So I’m into the last four days of my trip.  Honestly, I can’t believe I’m almost done here, and this ending is kind of bittersweet.  On one side, I am very excited to see my family after two and a half months, but at the same time, I feel I’m leaving just as I start to figure out what’s going on.  I mean both in terms of learning how to manage fieldwork in this environment and just navigating rural India in general.  I’ve learned the right way to bargain with auto rickshaw drivers, how to calm down farm animals, and even enough local politics to make decent small talk with local community members.

Last week was intense.  I was running around handing over the project to the folks in the villages and at BCT, but this week is going to be much more low key.  I’ll be attending the first sanitation meetings to make sure things are running smooth, talking to teachers to impress on them how important it is that they take a little bit of time in their busy days to ensure the school is sanitary, and finish shooting footage for a second video we’re making about BCT’s disability center.  It’ll be a week filled with goodbyes and writing about those goodbyes.

My flight’s on Friday.  Four days left.  Let’s do this.

